Falk Foundation | Dr. Falk
You are here:  About usAwards for Scientists
Awards for Scientists

The Falk Foundation donates several scientific awards to highly committed young scientists to honor excellent achievements in research.

Herbert Falk Prize

The Herbert Falk Prize for outstanding research in the field of gastroenterology is awarded at the Falk Gastro Conference. The winner receives €40,000. Herbert Falk (1924–2008), founder of the Falk Foundation e.V. (1978), provided exceptional support in the promotion of gastroenterology and hepatology, both in Germany and worldwide.


Adolf Windaus Prize

Since 1980, the Adolf Windaus Prize of €15,000 has been awarded every two years to pay tribute to outstanding achievements in the field of bile acid research. The prize is named after the holder of the 1928 Nobel Prize for Chemistry, Prof. Adolf Windaus (1876–1959), who pioneered new developments in cholesterol and steroid research. His research provided the basis for later discoveries in bile acid metabolism.


International Hans Popper Prize

The International Hans Popper Prize of €25,000 has been awarded at international Falk Liver Conferences since 1989. It honors outstanding research on liver disease delivered by experienced, active scientists. Prof. Hans Popper, after whom the prize is named, was born in Vienna in 1903 and died in 1988. He was a renowned liver disease specialist.


Adolf Kussmaul Prize

The Adolf Kussmaul Prize has been awarded every year since 1991 during the meeting of the South-West German Gastroenterology Association (Südwestdeutsche Gesellschaft für Gastroenterologie). This prize awards €5,000 to young scientists (up to 35 years old) and is named after the gastroenterologist Adolf Kussmaul (1822–1902).


Ludwig Demling Prize

Since 1999, this prize has been awarded as part of the research funding program led by the German Federation of Crohn's Disease and Ulcerative Colitis (Deutsche Morbus Crohn/Colitis ulcerosa Vereinigung e.V., DCCV) for clinical research projects in the field of inflammatory bowel disease. It awards €25,000 every three years during the DCCV’s annual meeting. The prize is named after the gastroenterologist Ludwig Demling (1921–1995).


Thannhauser Medal and Thannhauser Prize

The Thannhauser Medal and Thannhauser Prize are presented alternately every two years by the German Society for Digestive and Metabolic Diseases (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Verdauungs- und Stoffwechselkrankheiten, DGVS) at the society’s annual meeting. The Thannhauser Prize, which awards €10,000, is awarded in uneven-numbered years. The medal and prize are named after Siegfried Thannhauser (1885–1962), who worked as a specialist in internal medicine and scientist in Munich, Heidelberg, Düsseldorf and Freiburg. In 1934, he was forced to emigrate to the USA for political reasons, where he worked in Boston. He died there in 1962.